//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Tackle Training Twist

It was an almost perfect EVE weekend. Having spent the few hours of EVE I could steal during the week on making tactical bookmarks and getting a basic lineup of PvP ships fitted in the Tribal staging system. Did I already mention I am in love with my new Oracle? The switch from a shield dominated alliance to this bunch of armor tanking enthusiasts I am calling friends now is not happening without hiccups in my training plan. It will push the Sleipnir even further down the road. But alas, what should I do, home defense comes first and although I love my malediction I am feeling the itch to apply some DPS.

On friday evening the weekend started with a training session for rookie pilots. Since I still consider myself a bloody noob when it comes to PvP, I signed up and was actually quite excited about this opportunity. The session was about tackling. T1 frigs were given out and we talked about the very basics of the fittings. Despite the drill sergeant being apparently awfully hungover from his previous night out (he is Australian) we had a nice discussion. I especially liked the attitude that there was no such thing as a stupid question. Nobody was looked down upon because he was not yet an elite PvPer.

Next we undocked in our frigs, were assigned a partner and started to tackle each other. We could have done more refined practicing here, such as trying to escape out of tackle range, tactical maneuvering, manual flying and testing the effect of overheating and so on but honestly, shooting each other out of the sky was more fun. I was rather pleased with myself that nobody managed to kill my rifter. So while my sparring mates reshipped I was happily zipping around on the undock practicing no fancy tactics but the good old rule to engage your opponent with maximum determination. It was Rixx Javixx words that rang in my mind along the lines of “once you made the decision to engage stop thinking too much and commit yourself fully to the fight from the beginning”.Overheat everything!

Armor and half of structure gone I dRifted through the field of wrecks from my sparring partners unable to get rid of the stupid smile on my face. Then 5s vs 5s were called and there was a bit of confusion who belongs into which team and how to form fleets and so on, when the overview suddenly turned grey/orange and thirty or so Goons/CircleOfTwo in SFIs  and supporting Exequrors landed a few dozen kilometers away from the station. (So much to watching Intel channels. Should maybe train this first!?) Well this looked interesting. Since I was quite far away from the station myself I decided to get save at a tactical bookmark (already paying off!). While the kinder-garden was quickly shushed into the station the grown ups routinely formed a home defense fleet.

In the meantime I zipped from tactical to tactical keeping an eye on the intruders, who seemed to be eager for a fight. When 50+ Omen undocked the goons warped away … right into the bubbles at one of the gates. I warped to a bookmark close to that gate but just as I dropped out of warp my client disconnected. This tends to happen rather often to me. It does not like to load crowded grids, which is very inconvenient, since this is really the worst time to disconnect. Anyhow, once I had logged back in, the slaughter was already quite advanced. Warping to my bookmark had brought me behind the group of enemy T1 logistics and so I went straight for a tackle of the Exequrors. I managed to get on 5 killmails, then it was over.

What a nice training session! GF!

Shortly after this instructive lesson an AHAC operation was called and I hopped into my malediction to fly along. Into Stain we went with unknown mission goal. At one gate a lone Drake jumped into our group…. and was insta-popped so quickly that many people did not even get a lock on him. Poor guy. When the command came to burn to the destination it became clear we were to safe some friendly carriers. Unfortunately, landing at the POS, which the carriers were working on, the enemy fleet bailed. We were able to grab a Vagabond and a Cynabal that desparately tried to burn away from us. Both melted under the Zealot’s lasers.

It looks as if I will not run short of interesting opportunities to finally get some PvP experience. Period Basis and surroundings are definitely more vibrant than my former home. Saturday promptly lived up to that expectation. But I will write about this in another post. Only so much: The Goons were a bit pissed about being stomped in their SFI fleet on friday. So they schemed to come back….

Fly smart! Chira.

About chiralityeve

A rookie capsuleer exploring the depths of New Eden

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Copyright Notice

EVE Online and the EVE logo are the registered trademarks of CCP hf. All rights are reserved worldwide. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. EVE Online, the EVE logo, EVE and all associated logos and designs are the intellectual property of CCP hf. All artwork, screenshots, characters, vehicles, storylines, world facts or other recognizable features of the intellectual property relating to these trademarks are likewise the intellectual property of CCP hf. CCP is in no way responsible for the content on or functioning of this website, nor can it be liable for any damage arising from the use of this website.
