//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Courage my heart, take leave and fare thee well.

The pitfalls for the casual player… last weekend we have left WhyS0 and joined Tribal.  Since I had real life stuff going on I managed to log in only when the freight train already had left and my clone awakened in a now hostile station. It’s like that in nullsec. Not only does it mean you cannot use vital services (fitting, clones,…) at the station anymore, if  left I would not even be able to dock anymore. This effectively means I need to liquify all my stuff. All ships, all produce, everything apart from that bomber that will carry me to my new home. Yes, contracts could be used to move the stuff. It will be difficult to find a pilot – blue to WhyS0 – to do this job for me, though. For the planetary mines and factories I cannot do anything. It’s probably the worst loss I’ll have to take, I cannot even sell them. Financially this is not a big issue, the battleships I’ll have to contract away below value will cost me much more. However, the time I spent setting up 10 planets, balancing outputs, scheduling production… that feels like a loss. As will the familiar belts and gates and corners around here…

Probably this is the time when you really need to cut the bonds to the ephemeral material world. “Carpe diem et memento mori!” I’ve learned a lot in the months I spend in Wicked Creek. The skillpoints will be carried by my clone into new reaches of space. More important though: the things I learned about life in nullsec as a player. From logistics issues to security drill, from structure grinds to nullsec industry and ratting. I’ve flown my first interceptor, my first interdictor and my first battleship during these months. I’ve found my first wormhole route to high sec and produced my own pos fuel from scratch.

It will be fun to see how the experiences at WhyS0 will compare to how our new allies run things. Already I am impressed by the level of organisation. But that is maybe to be expected from a large alliance. I’m looking forward to meet and make new friends. I’ll try to come with an open mind. I hope to be able to figure out the financial side of things much quicker this time. Was my goal for the previous months to become economically sustainable, my goal for this new adventure will be to get more PvP experience. Chirality has the skills, it’s her player that is lacking. Period basis looks like a satellite galaxy to New Eden. I just hope there will be opportunities to go out with my new bros and have fun. Guess I’ll have to learn my ways around Stain.

But until then, there is still quite a journey ahead. Things need to be sorted out, the mind needs to be freed from it’s worldly constraints and oceans will be crossed. It is a peculiar state. The old has ended but the new not yet begun. Leaping, from one step to the next. Suspended in midair. A weird cocktail of nostalgia and excited curiosity. The words of German poet Hermann Hesse come to mind: “A magic dwells in each beginning…”

So long Wicked Creek!

About chiralityeve

A rookie capsuleer exploring the depths of New Eden

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Copyright Notice

EVE Online and the EVE logo are the registered trademarks of CCP hf. All rights are reserved worldwide. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. EVE Online, the EVE logo, EVE and all associated logos and designs are the intellectual property of CCP hf. All artwork, screenshots, characters, vehicles, storylines, world facts or other recognizable features of the intellectual property relating to these trademarks are likewise the intellectual property of CCP hf. CCP is in no way responsible for the content on or functioning of this website, nor can it be liable for any damage arising from the use of this website.
